Atomistry » Bismuth » Chemical Properties » Bismuth Thiobromide
Atomistry »
  Bismuth »
    Chemical Properties »
      Bismuth Thiobromide »

Bismuth Thiobromide, BiSBr

Bismuth Thiobromide, BiSBr, has been obtained by heating together a mixture of bismuth tribromide and sulphur. It may be obtained more readily by the action of hydrogen sulphide on bismuth tribromide, or by the action of bromine upon dried, precipitated bismuth trisulphide. In each case the action must be carefully regulated. The former reaction, when carried out at temperatures up to a very low red heat, may be represented by the equation

BiBr3 + H2S = BiSBr + 2HBr

while at full red heat the following occurs:

2BiBr3 + 3H2S = Bi2S3 + 6HBr

The second reaction is carried out at a low red heat, and may be represented by the equation

Bi2S3 + 2Br2 = BiSBr + BiBr3 + 2S

Last articles

Zn in 7VD8
Zn in 7V1R
Zn in 7V1Q
Zn in 7VPF
Zn in 7T85
Zn in 7T5F
Zn in 7NF9
Zn in 7M4M
Zn in 7M4O
Zn in 7M4N
© Copyright 2008-2020 by
Home   |    Site Map   |    Copyright   |    Contact us   |    Privacy